SIAG-APDE Newsletter May 2007


Dear Members,

This is the second newsletter of our still young activity group. After the successful inaugural meeting in December, 2004, and subsequent one in Boston, July 2006, we had the second election of officers early this year. The new officers, elected to two year terms 2007-2008 are as follows:

Chair: Irene M. Gamba

Vice Chair: Patricia Bauman

Program Director: Carme Calderer

Secretary: David Kinderlehrer


The next SIAG/APDE meeting will be held at the Hilton Phoenix East/Mesa, Mesa, Arizona, on December 10-12, 2007.   This is a great opportunity for us to showcase our field to a wide audience of mathematical scientists. For detailed information see  Notice that the mini symposium submission deadline is coming soon!


At the meeting, our SIAG will award the second SIAG/APDE prize.

See the web site for details and for nomination procedures.

The prize committee is chaired by Mary Pugh, from University of Toronto; and has members Yann Brenier, University of Nice, France; Alice Chang, Princeton University; Bjorn Engquist, University of Texas at Austin; Robert Pego, Carnegie Mellon University.


Nominations, including bibliographic citation and a justification, should be sent by May 15, 2007, preferably by e-mail (or by hard copy), to:

SIAG/APDE Prize Selection Committee

c/o J. M. Littleton


3600 University City Science Center

Philadelphia, PA 19104-2688




We have a new web site that is linked to the SIAM SIAG/APDE web site  Suggestions and contributions can be submitted to Harsha Tharkabhushanam from the web site.


I look forward to seeing everyone in Mesa, Arizona!


Irene M. Gamba